New Board for Public Broadcasting Services


The government is announcing the appointment of a new Public Broadcasting Services (PBS) board.

This was done during the Annual General Meeting held on September 2, 2020. This board will be composed of a chairperson, along with eight other people with different skills and competencies. This is being done the day after an agreement was signed between the government and PBS on the government’s financial contribution for the next five years, with an average of almost € 6 million a year.

In the words of Minister Carmelo Abela, who among others is responsible for national broadcasting, this panel will carry out the necessary reform so that the national station continues to improve the quality and serve the public interest by providing content of the highest quality through new projects that will strengthen all TVM platforms in the future. This is to offer a worthy national broadcast and that people look for high level productions that are also available on emerging technologies.

At the same time, it will look to modernize PBS from every aspect, including in the structure of the same company.

The board will be made up of these people;

Chairperson – Profs Carmen Sammut

Directors – Dr Maria Brown, Mr Ray Calleja, Mr Jeremy Camilleri, Mr Engelbert Grech, Mr Albert Marshall, Dr Marthese Portelli, Mr Oliver Scicluna and Ms Adriana Zarb Adami.