Floriana clinch Izebet FA Trophy in tight win over Valletta

Floriana won the Izebet FA Trophy with a 2-1 win over old foes Valletta.

A packed Ta’ Qali witnessed an absorbing game between these two great rivals.

Floriana created the better chances in the first half with Jan Busuttil, Ulises Arias and Kristian Keqi going close before Busuttil headed Floriana in front with 20 minutes on the clock.

Floriana kept their lead until seven minutes into the second have when Mario Fontanella converted from the penalty spot after Andrea Zammit was fouled inside the area by Magri Overend.

Guarnone pulled over some fine saves to keep Valletta in the game and after ninety minutes with the scores still level, extra time beckoned.

Jan Busuttil had a golden chance to regain the lead for Floriana when they were awarded a penalty just before the end of the first period of extra time but he fired his show wide of goal.

Any fear that that miss would come back to haunt Floriana was dispelled when Andrei Ciolacu beat Guarnone with a perfectly placed drive from out on the right.

That proved to be the winner for Floriana.

Despair for Valletta who also miss out on European football.